Monday, March 24, 2014

Physicist Rajesh Gopakumar chosen for 2013 G D Birla award

Rajesh Gopakumar
  • The prestigious G D Birla award for scientific research for 2013 has been given to Rajesh Gopakumar, a theoritical physicist at the Harish Chandra Research Institute in Allahabad
  • 46-year-old Gopakumar has been awarded for his contribution in the Quantum Field Theory and String Theory. 
  • The selection of the award is made by a board comprising eminent scientists including Asis Datta and Anupam Varma.
  • Born on December 14, 1967, Gopakumar is a theoritical physicist who has made significant contributions to the understanding of String Theory and Quantum Field Theory. 
  • He is a recipient of several other awards, including B M Birla Science prize in 2004 & Third World Academy of Sciences Award in 2013.
About G D Birla award:
  • The G D Birla award for scientific research was instituted in 1991 by K K Birla Foundation to recognise significant scientific research undertaken by Indian scientists below the age of 50, working in India
  • The award carries a cash prize of Rs 1.5 lakh and a citation. 
  • For 2012, G D Birla Award was given to Prof. Nibir Mandal of Jadavpur University for his work in area of structural geology.

No comments:

Post a Comment