Tuesday, February 11, 2014

India for code of conduct in South China Sea

  • India wants code of conduct for all in South China Sea to build capabilities and capacities to safeguard its interests
  • Human trafficking is major concern for India.
  • Four coastal security sensors would be activated along the islands to further bolster surveillance.
  •  Military infrastructure, with more jetties and airstrips, including extension and strengthening of the existing ones, was being provided.
  • Measures adopted by the command to beef up security of the region and conducted periodic joint patrols with Indonesia, Thailand and Myanmar
  • Surveillance of the northern and southern groups of the island chain was ensured by way of regular patrol by ships and deployment of maritime reconnaissance aircraft and helicopters.
  • Freedom of navigation in the area should be in line with international maritime guidelines
Black day- The black day for Indian aviation dawned when the Federal Aviation Administration downgraded India to Category 2 on safety
The implications of the downgrade are serious. Air India and Jet Airways cannot increase their operations to the U.S. until the status is restored. All code shares with American carriers get cancelled. Both carriers will be subjected to inspections for safety compliance. Other aviation authorities may opt to increase the surveillance and safety audits of Indian carriers
Related information
FAA- The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is the national aviation authority of the United States. An agency of the United States Department of Transportation, it has authority to regulate and oversee all aspects of American civil aviation. The Federal Aviation Act of 1958 created the organization under the name Federal Aviation Agency. The agency adopted its current name in 1966 when it became a part of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

No comments:

Post a Comment